imperfection

I’m currently reading The Artist Way which is a course for rediscovering your creativity. This post is one my tasks for this week. I’m being a model, but being inspired by the amazing Megan Jayne Crab.

Here I am in all my glory. Unfiltered, unedited, bags under my eyes (didn’t sleep well), unwashed hair, no makeup, full fat, rolls, stretch marks, cellulite, spots, bruises, bug bites and scars.

I’ve spent most of my life hating my body and everything about it. From not wanting to look in the mirror, to not going out, to being super trained in the art of sucking in your stomach at every opportunity, even to the extent I would be doing it when I was alone. I’ve been working on myself for quite a number of years, and it’s still an ongoing process but one that has been so worthwhile. However, I still wasn’t looking forward to this task. Surprisingly I actually like this picture. I liked all of them all the ones I took. It’s amazing to me that I actually like a picture of my stomach rolls, boob stretch marks and thigh cellulite all on show. But I do. And that’s an incredible feeling. A feeling I never thought I would ever have.

Our flaws are not flaws. They’re natural, real, raw, and beautiful. We live in fake society where looks are everything and our ‘role models’ are completely unobtainable and airbrushed. Yet we forget that and still strive to be what we think it perfection. But it’s not. We are already perfect. We need to love ourselves. It’s taken me a while but I’m the happiest I have ever been, I actually love myself now, I love being in my own company without having to distract myself, and shockingly I actually love this picture. We should all be proud of who we are and what we look like. Every ‘imperfection’ or ‘flaw’ tells a story, is what makes us, us. Its what makes us incredible. So I’m totally jumping on the body positivity bandwagon. And I encourage you all too. You are all friggin beautiful people. Please take a moment to see that in yourself and appreciate who you are.

β€οΈπŸ’™πŸ’›πŸ’šπŸ’œ

Leave a Reply

