just hug

As you may have heard, there was an earthquake south of Bali yesterday. And it really shook me up. No pun intended.

I’ve felt a tremor before when I was in Nepal meditating at Kopan Monastery. It was one big shift. Like someone pulled a carpet from under me. It was one of the most insane/amazing sensations I have ever felt. To feel that amazing power of the earth actually move beneath you like that. But this was different.

I was on the porch and Jenna was in bed, and suddenly the roof started to move, there was this crazy sound against it, I thought it was a huge gust of wind bellowing above, but as I looked around I couldn’t see the tree’s or plants moving with it. I turned back wondering what was going on. Then it started. Jenna jumped out of bed and stood there staring at me in shock. I just stood in the doorway looking back. The earth was shaking. The ground beneath us was having a party and it let us in without the courtesy of asking. It was incredibly surreal. And the seriousness of it didn’t hit me. Everything was moving but nothing was falling or breaking. We were just all moving as one. It was strong. Deep. Shallow. I felt calm.

“What do we do?” I asked. Jenna ran out to join me. We looked around assessing, then looked at each other. “Lets hug” I responded to my own question. And we just stood there hugging. Feeling each others hearts beating, holding each other until eventually it calmed down and stopped. It felt like the right thing to do. I think it was the right thing to do. There was something special about it. I can’t describe it, can’t put into words the physical and emotional experience I went through. It was something else. We sat down to process what had just happened, I looked online to see what was going on. Holy shit. 6.4 magnitude, at least 30 seconds long, no threat of a tsunami. It was only then that I started to freak out.. but that’s a whole other story.

A friend out here shared her experience, she was driving her scooter at the time when she thought she started hallucinating at the asphalt ground started making waves beneath her..

I managed to stop on the side of the road at a fruit stand. A boy of maybe 9 or 10 years was standing there. I must have looked terrified since he smiled at me in a comforting way and said “It was an earthquake. We have many earthquakes in Bali”.

“And what do you do?” I heard popping out of my mouth, already regretting for having asked such a question to a child. He paused for a second. “Nothing. We hug” he replied..

Turns out I must have been Balinese in a previous life.

Leave a Reply

